Skip to content

Traveling Internationally With Kids

August 4, 2010

August 4, 2010

Technology has forever changed the way I fly internationally with children. Before the iPad, before the iPod Touch, before Nintendo DSi, entertainment options were different. Occupying children on a long plane ride meant over-stuffing my carry-on with things like play dough, magnetic toys, coloring books, stickers, crayons and myriad other diversions to keep idle hands busy. Now, I still bring a few of those items, but I noticed a shift in the way my kids, age 12, 8 and 3 pass the time on a flight. My bag is no longer filled with only miniature versions of toys, but electronics have taken their place. iPod and iPad movies and games keep my kids busy for long stretches. The Nintendo DSi does the same. Other things that the kids did on the 11 hour flight: folded origami, played with mini toys and Polly Pockets and listened to inflight music on the kids’ channel. For my oldest, I was happy to see her reading a book she brought along. For my youngest, eating lollipops was another great diversion.

Yes, portable technology has certainly changed the way we do lots of things, but trust me, flying internationally with kids is SO much better with these wonderful devices than it was without them.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

