Skip to content

Choices

December 11, 2009

It must be just me. Other people seem to have no problem developing a “look” for their website/blog/Twitter page. Me? I just spent three hours searching pages of backgrounds and themes only to come up empty-handed. I finally did find one theme I liked and thought I could work with, but then discovered that I have the WRONG WordPress account. I have a dotcom instead of a dotorg so I can only select from the limited, mostly unimpressive, uninspired theme templates available on WordPress.com. Perhaps I’m too picky? Is that it? Maybe I don’t understand the technology enough to realize that what I want is unrealistic. I do know what I don’t want. First of all, I don’t want the HUGE title at the top of this theme I’m using now. But, I do like the 3-column layout of entries. However, I am finding myself getting tired of this look too, so I think it’s time for a change. What I WANT is a look that won’t get old — something that is playful but under-stated, timeless but unique, easy to read but able to utilize a variety of widgets and tools. And here we finally come to the real root of the problem. I want it all. I want to have my cake and eat it too. I want the top-of-the-line model at the cheapest model price. So, I see that it ultimately boils down to “me” and since I can’t do graphic design to save my life, perhaps I should go marry someone who can do it for me. Oh, wait. I did. I’m off to find him.

From → Miscellanea

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

