Skip to content

Ginkgo Trees in Brilliant Yellow

November 12, 2009

The Ginkgo trees are making their glorious transformation this week. The vibrant yellow of the leaves is a remarkable wonder. When the leaves start to fall, yellow petal-like leaves cover the sidewalks. It seems today, the leaves in my neighborhood have almost all transformed. I’m sure if I don’t get photos today, I won’t get another opportunity, so even though these aren’t the greatest shots, I’ll still feel like I captured this brief moment in time. I wish there was a park nearby filled with Ginkgo trees. I would take the girls there and sit beneath the branches like we used to do in Japan. I guess it feels like there is a lot more concrete and cement where we live now in Seoul. It reminds me of a quote by Keats that touched my soul one day, “To one who has been long in city pent tis very sweet to look into the fair and open face of Heaven.” I do long for that “fair and open face Heaven.” The big, blue skies of Nashville are like a faint and distant memory. But, still, I wouldn’t trade the chance to uncover new mysteries of life through our time spent here in Asia. The Ginkgo leaves are just one of many wonders.

From → Korea, Seoul

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

