Skip to content

Circles, Circles Everywhere

October 16, 2009

img 8574

January 4, 2009 — The hardest thing in a new and foreign city, and also one of the most fun things for me as well, is trying to decipher the new signs and symbols you see all around you. This particular one intrigued me right away because I saw these circles EVERYWHERE around Seoul. On the sides of buildings, red, blue and green circles are painted or lit up or flashing in some way. After weeks of wondering, I finally found an extra clue in the way of a clip-art sign with a pool cue and billiard balls. These strange circles must be the country-wide accepted Korean symbol for a billiard hall!

Now, when I see the circles everywhere I go, all over the city, I just smile and think, “One mystery down. 100,000 more to go.”

Also, I suppose people here must like billiards.

From → Korea, Seoul

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

