Skip to content

Feeling Tired

May 18, 2006

Thursday, May 18, 2006
Day 14 in Japan

I was so bored today. I’m feeling really lazy and tired. My brother called me this morning from the States. It was about midnight his time. It was REALLY, REALLY great to talk with him. It’s the first voice contact I’ve had from home in a couple of weeks. I suppose I should get out of the house and walk around the neighborhood a little, but I’m just so tired. My arms and legs feel so heavy. The girls played on the swing set and the playground across the street. Later in the afternoon, they played with the little boys next door and had a really fun time pushing each other in the swings. I was glad to see they were all getting along so well.

We finally have internet access. We were able to finally get our modem yesterday and Husband installed it last night. Today is my first day back online and all I can say is “Ahhhhhh.” Our Vonage phone is finally hooked up now, too, so I can email everyone and give out our contact info.

Husband came home about 5:30pm and we made spaghetti for dinner. Life is so different from the 80 hour work weeks he put in at his company in Nashville.

Wow, a huge revelation. In checking email today I got a voice mail from my doctor’s office. I stayed up late to call them during their morning hours. The nurse told me my blood test results had come back and my blood count was low. She said I needed to take an iron supplement.

“Is that why I’ve been so weak and tired lately?” “Absolutely,” she said, ” That and being pregnant, of course!” Man, that explains a lot. Hopefully I can get my iron levels up and I’ll have more energy. That’s really reassuring because I had been thinking I was just really depressed. It makes sense that there’s an imbalance in my system because I’ve been worrying about all the different foods we’ve been eating here and adjusting to the differences of meals in Japan. I haven’t had any red meat in weeks.

We eat so much more seafood, rice, soups, and veggies. Fried foods like chicken tenders, french fries and common place restaurant foods in America just aren’t served like that in Japan. Heavily breaded chicken tenders are replaced with very lightly breaded chicken pieces called Karage. The kids love it. Japanese eat totally different foods than Americans. The quantity of food in a restaurant meal is about half, and it’s much more well balanced and offered in appropriate servings. No 20oz steaks, but more like a 5oz hamburg patty with onions and breading cooked inside. Also, salad and bread isn’t offered before meals.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

